Mike Vehle

Title: State Legislator (Retired)
Company: The State of South Dakota
Location: Mitchell, South Dakota, United States

Mike Vehle, Vice Chairman at South Dakota Transportation Commission, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Executives for dedication, achievements, and leadership in the field of transportation.

An active member of his community, Mr. Vehle began his career as a legislative aide to Congressman James Abdnor, upon completing coursework at the University of South Dakota. Soon thereafter, he accepted the position of vice president of CorTrust Bank from 1993 to 2010. During this time, he also began his own political endeavors, serving as a representative of the South Dakota House of Representatives District until 2008. He continued his public affairs, contributing to the Transportation Task Force in 2008 and participating as a member of the South Dakota State Senate for District 20, until 2016. Mr. Vehle has excelled as the vice-chair of the South Dakota Transportation Commission, since 2017.

Achievements to Mr. Vehle’s credit include working on many transportation initiatives and issues that focused on re-establishing the Rail Line West of Chamberlain, South Dakota, and the ban on texting and driving. He also implemented optics that required all state government departments to track performance management and enforcing the requirement of liquor license owners to “use it or lose it.” Keeping a commitment to local organizations a top priority, Mr. Vehle has also dedicated his time to the South Dakota Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee, the South Dakota Judiciary Committee, and sat as chair for the South Dakota Transportation Committee, between 2009 and 2015. In addition, he was also president of the Mitchell Area Chamber of Commerce and the Federal Grain Inspection Service Advisory Board and served as co-chair of the Council of State Government’s Transportation and Infrastructure Committee. For his accomplishments in the field, he has been inducted into the South Dakota Transportation Hall of Honor in 2015.

Contact Mr. Vehle

Leave a Reply